1939 County Minor Final

Kilmurry's next County title came in 1939 when they won the Minor Football Championship having just played one game. There were only two entrants for the Mid Cork Championship and Macroom were nominated to represent the Muskerry Division before its internal competition took place.

Macroom defeated Avondhu in the county final at U.C.C. grounds but were later to lose the Mid Cork Championship to Kilmurry on a score Kilmurry 1-5, Macroom 0-5 played at Coachford on Sunday March 3 rd 1940. Although a lot may be written since about Kilmurry's masterstroke on the day Kilmurry was awarded both the county and Divisional titles. The team that did duty on that day were J Looney (goals), D Lehane (Capt.), John O'Regan, Jas O'Regan, L Lynch, T Sheehan, T Crowley, J O'Leary, D O'Neill, JJ Bradfield, D Bradfield, P Galvin, D O'Brien, H Kelly, Jim O'Grady.

The late Jim O'Grady who figured on the 1939 Minor team was afterwards to establish himself as a prominent senior hurler with St Finbarr's and later as a well-known member at Cork County Board and a hurling selector with various Inter County hurling teams.

Other early famous personalities of the Club were Ml Galvin (Clomacow) who was killed in action at Lissarda Ambush, D J O'Riordan (Crookstown) former Chairman and architect of the 1939 County Minor victory; John (Jack) Murray Beal na Blath and Crookstown, former secretary of the club and Mid Cork Board - the person to whom Jim Goulding former President of the Mid Cork Board refers to as the man who did some valuable work in streamlining the administrating affairs of the Board during its formative years and regarded him as a very competent officer; D J O'Leary, Kilcondy a former secretary; Donal P Ua Buachalla, M A former Secretary of the club and Vice Chairman of Mid Cork Board; John Fitzgerald, Lissarda who presented a set of jerseys when the Club was formed under G.A.A. Rules, Denis Hickey M.C.C former chairman and John O'Mahony, Lissarda prominent Club official.

Back to top