1958 To 1980's

Following poor results in the early 50's interest in the club was not as great as earlier years and following a lean period the Club went out of existence in 1956. Then in 1958 Tim Harrington, Dooniskey, who had different positions in the club from 1942 onwards set about to re-organise the club and after three attempts at forming a committee early that year, the following were elected to serve the club; Chairman -William Murphy, Coolduv; Hon Secretary - Tim Harrington, Dooniskey; Vice Chairman - Denis McCarthy, Kilmurry; Committee members - Dan Fitzgerald, Dooniskey, Denis O'Callaghan, Tereveen and Denis Sheehan, Kilmurry. They wisely decided to start at grass roots level and concentrated at building up a good school shields team. John Crowley, Crookstown was appointed trainer and their efforts were immediately rewarded. They defeated Kilnamartyra, Macroom and Ballincollig in the final to capture the Mid Cork School Shields Title, but this fine bunch of young boys were determined to have the County Cup also in their hands.

They then went on to defeat Bandon in the first round of the championship before falling to Upton in the semi-final. An objection to the legality of Upton was immediately lodged and following a lengthy hearing Kilmurry was in the county final against Mallow. The game was played in Coachford, and their victory was to secure a sound base for the future success of the club. Later, this team was unlucky to lose to Macroom in a Mid Cork Juvenile Final after the appointed referee failed to show up but were soon to make amends when capturing the Mid Cork Minor title of 1962.

Meanwhile Kilmurry Juniors were trying to get on the winning trail but were not meeting with any success despite some good efforts. They contested the divisional final on three occasions 1966-1968 but lost on all occasions. However these years of frustration were to end in 1969 when they captured the Mid Cork and County Junior Football Titles.

Mean while the club had captured a Mid Cork Juvenile B Title in 1968 by defeating Eire Og and later several of the same players won the Club its first Under 21 Championship defeating Macroom in the 1971 Final played at Coachford. The following team took to the field that day; Martin Coughlan, Dan Buckley, Liam Fleming, Denis Galvin, Dan O'Halloran, Liam O'Sullivan, Denis Lucey, Ml. Galvin, Pat Lucey, Sean Murphy, Edward Galvin, Jas O'Sullivan, Denis Healy, Ray O'Sullivan, Anthony Hickey and Maurice Galvin.

These wins were to lay the foundations for further success in the late 70's and early 80's. Despite a bright beginning in intermediate ranks in 1970 several players again became unavailable to the Club and following successive disappointing championship displays the Club regarded to Junior ranks in 1976.

While there was no immediate return to instant success the nest decade would prove both on and off the playing field the most successful years of the club. It began with the winning of a further Mid Cork Junior Title in 1978, then in 1981 the club's greatest goal was achieved when it successfully negotiated the purchase of six acres of ground to begin with what you see here today and finally climaxing in 1986 with the winning of three Mid Cork Championships titles, 2 County titles and a Mid Cork Junior league.

In the meantime further Mid Cork Junior titles were added in 1980 and 1984 as well as the 1980 and 1986 County Junior Title. Following this victory Kilmurry went up the Intermediate ranks. An Under 21 team were successful in winning the 1981 Under 21 B Championship. Also during this period our underage teams enjoyed a fair share of success from a successful arrangement between ourselves and Canovee coming together at Under 12 and Under 14 level. Playing under the name of Kilmurry Under 14 Titles was won in 1978 and 1982 and Under 12 Mid Cork and County Title were also won in 1982.

Back to top