1990 To Present

The official opening of Pairc Sheain Mhic Ghearailt was in 1991, our new playing fields and dressing rooms, named after one of the Club's stalwarts. County Board Chairman Tony O'Mahony cut the tape on a project that took many years and much effort to achieve. It was fitting that the year's end saw our Junior B's win their first Mid-Cork Championship, beating Ballinora in the final. They added the League Title for good measure.

The years 1992 - 1995 saw the Club on a roller coaster ride of emotions as it competed in two County Intermediate Championship Finals, beaten narrowly in 1992 by Mallow by 1 point, and in 1995 by the Dohenys in another year of heartbreak for the Club. If the Billy Long Cup eluded us, we achieved a small measure of consolation, winning two Intermediate League Titles in 1990 and 1994.

The 1990's also saw the Club win the Muskerry Cup for the first time in 1992 and an Under-21 title in 1993. Our Minor team won the B Championship and League in 1995, and their own Divisional League in 1997 the Non-Exam League in 1998, and the A Championship in 1999 with a tremendous victory over Grenagh. The decade ended as it began, with a Junior B Championship and League double.

The Club competed for a number of years in the invitation only Clonakilty National Seven-A-Side Competition, reaching the Final in 1995 only to be beaten by Castlehaven in a cracking Final.

The new millennium dawned with an historic win by our Junior C team in the Championship, who beat Ballincollig by two points in an epic battle. Our Intermediates won the Tom Creedon Cup; our latest win was the Junior B League in 2003. In 2003 Kilmurry intermediates regraded to the Junior grade.

The last decade or so has been notable for our Club's contribution to Cork's Inter-County Football teams at all grades, and a both player and selector level. Among those who have donned the Cork jersey were John O'Leary, John Clifford, Conor Murphy, James Fleming, Finbarr Crowley, James White, James Down and David McCarthy. Selectors Sean Murphy, Jim Murphy, and Donal Holland have contributed greatly to All-Ireland winning teams.

The Club did not forget its duty to Muskerry. It has supplied many players to the Divisional team down through the years. Dan Buckley, Jim Murphy, and Patrick Harrington have acted as able selectors. Dan Buckley served on the G.P.C. for many years, and former Club Chairman J.J. Long has been Vice-Chairman of the Divisional Board since 1999. Jack Lynch was Vice-Chairman a few years back of the Mid. Cork Juveniles Board Michael White and Niall Down are currently Chairman and PRO, respectively of the Mid-Cork Juveniles Board Kilmurry have players and selector involved in the Muskerry U16 which have won the Liam Lyne Cup on six occasions with Kilmurry players involved in all of them. Kilmurry have also been fortunate enough to have players involved with Cork underage.

In 2000 the underage club was organised in an officership structure to create a juvenile club within the auspicious of Kilmurry GAA Club. In 2003 the Club was greatly honoured by the election of Jim Murphy as Cork County Board Youth Officer. The Club has been blessed with committed Referees such as Raymond O'Sullivan, Pat O'Leary, Dave McCarthy, Jason Murphy, J.J. Murphy and Bartholomew Buckley.

Since the introduction of Club sponsorship, the Club has been fortunate to receive the financial backing of locals Finbarr Murphy's Goldcrop, Sean Murphy Solicitor, and Pat O'Leary of O'Leary's Garage Lissarda.

Back to top